Don’t Live in Fear. Defend your right to Offend.

prophetI don’t normally commentate on political topics, but a week ago when terrorists attacked the office of Charlie Hebdo for depicting the prophet Muhammed, they attacked something I hold very near and dear to my heart, the right to offend. I often taken many of my rights for granted, living in a free society, but the one right I always took seriously was my freedom of expression. I don’t care what you believe in or what kind of God you pray too, but I reserve the right to make fun of it freely and you in return have the same right to mock whatever I hold dear as long as none of it resorts to violence or violates another person. We as a global society can’t pick and choose what is off limits, because almost everything offends somebody somewhere. Once we decide one thing is taboo, then it all just dominoes and everyone is walking on egg shells, oh wait that’s already kind of happened. Some people will see this as me defending hate speech, but it’s not about that, it’s about people being able to express themselves without fear of being physically attacked. Oh yeah, if this offended you, great. Tell me how you feel about it and let’s have an intelligent conversation.

Posted on January 16, 2015, in Everything Else and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

